by

Psalm 23

I grew up with a theology that divided people into 3 parts: body, soul and spirit. The spirit could be redeemed,  but the soul and body were suspect at best.
However, I believe in a God that created ALL of me- all my senses, all my feelings- and intended that to be a source of wholeness, not shame. With that mindset, I’ve recently re-evaluated Psalm 23.

“The Lord is my Shepherd; I shall not want.” No denial of physical and emotional needs, but a shepherd who meets all of them.
“He makes me to lie down in green pastures” signifying being fed, and comfort.
“He leads me beside still waters” most of us have at one time or another drank brakish, warm,  unsatisfying water. But this is not where the Lord leads us. He takes us to the cool waters that quench our thirsts- thirsts for comfort,  beauty, music, art, etc.
“He restores my soul” (I’ll come back to this)
“Tho I walk through the valley of the shadow of death I will fear no evil” for me the biggest enemy of fulfillment and expression has been fear.
“For you are with me, your rod and staff comfort me” I grew up hearing how a rod and staff were tools of discipline, and limitation. But this verse is talking about comfort. Soothing. The safety of knowing someone is looking out for you.
“You prepare a table before me In the presence of my enemies” look anyone can pull bread and fish from a knapsack. But this is a table. Its a feast, even a party. Its food that’s not only nutritious but satisfying to body and soul.
“You anoint my head with oil” biblical anointing oil was soft on the skin and also smelled good (due to additions of myrhh and such.) It was also applied with a hand. We’re not talking about just dumping oil on someone here. We’re talking about touch, physical contact (in a completely non-sexual, healing way)
“My cup runs over” well,  we already have cool water, and its a feast so… this is probably wine.  (If you’d rather it not be, also ok) Wine tastes good, looks good, and makes you feel good. Its also a symbol of joy, and abundance.
“Surely goodness and mercy will follow me” mercy for my human failings. But goodness in the form of comfort to my soul and body: cool refeshing water, anointing, food that is also a feast, a cup overflowing with joy…
“And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever” this, THIS is where I chose to dwell. Where all my  God-given senses are acknowledged. Where my needs- physicial, spiritual and emotional- are valued, and met.
” HE RESTORES MY SOUL.” Not just my spirit,  or the spirtual part of me. But my senses, my body, my soul. The part that loves good food, bright colors, certain comforting things, and yes, an overflowing cup. He restores my soul.

Leave a Reply

