by

The Broken Eye

The Broken Eye (Lightbringer Series #3)
Brent Weeks.

I admit I am intimidated just trying to review this 795 page novel. It’s so complex, the characters are so well-developed, and so many things happen! I enjoy different fantasy authors, but every time I read a new book by Brent Weeks, I am reminded again why he is my favorite.

The Broken Eye picks up in the aftermath of the epic battle that ended The Blinding Knife.
Gavin, unable to draft at all, escapes on captivity only to end up in sucessively worse imprisonments.
Karris, no longer a Blackguard, finds herself stuggling to fit in as the right hand of the old, wise White.
Teia, learning more about her paryl drafting abilities all the time, ends up a double-agent spy, while also maintaining her place as a Blackguard trainee.
Kip, who appeared mostly as Gavin’s son at the start of the series, is now clearly established as the main character. Once a fat, outcast bastard child; he is now a powerful drafter, an acknowledged heir of the promachos, and a leader among his Blackguard peers. But he struggles with power, struggles with authority- always seeing himself as the unwanted fat boy.
Kip has to figure out how to truly become a leader- not just to rule through power or command but with wisdom and by example.

The Broken Eye brings all the elements that fans of Weeks’ work enjoy: the complex and well-developed mythos. The scheming. The battles. The sarcastic and humorous lines.
But while the story ranges all over the map of the Seven Satrapies, I think its greatest strength lies in the characters that Brent Weeks has taught us to love and hate. I can’t wait for the next book to find out who they all- ultimately- become!

Well done, Brent Weeks. You deserve every bit of success you have gained and more. But oww, my wrist…

image

A little bit of reflection on my part: I can’t help feeling that there are times when Kip’s inner monologue reflects Brent Weeks’s own experience. He is not a small man, and I imagine as a teenager, he probably saw himself as a fat ginger nerd. Now he is a bestselling and well loved author. As far as I know, Weeks has never lead an army or gone green golem, but I think he lends a little bit of his heart to Kip.
I also can’t help thinking, in bits and pieces of his well-drawn female characters, that he is loaning them qualities that he loves in his wife. Not all of them (and never the evil ones!) but there were occasional lines when I thought, “that must be Mrs. Weeks.”

Leave a Reply

